Anglais Swimming home (édition en anglais)


As he arrives with his family at the villa in the hills above Nice, Joe sees a body in the swimming pool. But the girl is very much alive. She is Kitty Finch: a self-proclaimed botanist with green-painted fingernails, walking naked out of the water and into the heart of their holiday. Why is she there? What does she want from them all? And why does Joe's wife allow her to remain? Swimming Home is a subversive page-turner, a merciless gaze at the insidious harm that depression can have on apparently stable, well-turned-out people. Set in a summer villa, the story is tautly structured, taking place over a single week in which a group of beautiful, flawed tourists in the French Riviera come loose at the seams. Deborah Levy's writing combines linguistic virtuosity, technical brilliance and a strong sense of what it means to be alive. Swimming Home represents a new direction for a major writer. In this book, the wildness and the danger are all the more powerful for resting just beneath the surface. With its biting humour and immediate appeal, it wears its darkness lightly. Swimming Home was also shortlisted for the New York Times Notable Book of 2012 and the Jewish Quarterly-Wingate Prize 2013. Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2012 and National Book Awards Author of the Year 2012

Categories : Littérature > Littérature

  • Authors

    Deborah Levy

  • Publisher

    Faber Et Faber

  • Distributeur


  • Publication date


  • EAN


  • Availablity


  • Nombre de pages

    160 Pages

  • Height

    19.8 cm

  • Width

    12.6 cm

  • Poids

    215 g

  • Support principal


Deborah Levy

  • Naissance : 6-8-1959
  • Age : 64 ans

Dramaturge, poétesse et romancière, Deborah Levy est l'auteure de trois romans remarqués, dont le dernier, The Man Who Saw Everything, a été finaliste du Man Booker Prize. L'œuvre de Deborah Levy est marquée par un vaste projet de trilogie autobiographique qu'elle nomme living autobiography, prix Femina étranger 2020 pour les deux premiers volets Ce que je ne veux pas savoir et Le Coût de la vie, et dont État des lieux constitue le dernier volet.