• La quête bouleversante de trois jeunes filles que tout sépare dans le sud des États-Unis ravagé par la guerre de Sécession.Louisiane, 1875 : Hannie, ancienne esclave, se retrouve malgré elle à faire la route avec Lavinia, son ancienne maîtresse, héritière ruinée d'une plantation, et Juneau Jane, la demi-soeur de Lavinia, fille d'une célèbre courtisane de La Nouvelle-Orléans. Chacune cherche le même homme, mais pour des raisons différentes. C'est au péril de leur vie qu'elles se lancent dans une épopée dangereuse à travers les États du Sud. Au bout du chemin, Hannie nourrit le secret espoir de retrouver les membres de sa famille dont elle a été séparée avant la fin de l'esclavage.
    Louisiane, 1987 : Pour Benedetta Silva, devenir professeure dans un collège rural semble la meilleure idée pour rembourser ses prêts étudiants. Mais les habitants de la ville d'Augustine se méfient des intrus et Benny peine à trouver sa place.
    Les Chemins de la liberté dévoile des événements historiques méconnus : après la guerre de Sécession, les anciens esclaves ont fait paraître des avis de recherche dans les journaux des États du Sud pour retrouver les membres de leur famille.

  • Un roman poignant sur l'amour fraternel et le poids des secrets trop longtemps gardés.
    Peu importe les chemins empruntés, le coeur se souvient toujours d'où l'on vient. Memphis, 1939. Par une nuit pluvieuse, Rill Foss, douze ans, et ses quatre frère et soeurs sont enlevés par des inconnus. Emmenés loin de la péniche familiale et des bords du Mississippi, jetés dans un orphelinat, les enfants réalisent bien vite qu'ils ne reverront plus leurs parents. La mystérieuse Société des foyers d'accueil du Tennessee vient de sceller leur sort à tout jamais.
    Caroline du Sud, de nos jours. Avery Stafford, jeune avocate épanouie à qui tout semble sourire, est de retour dans la ville de son enfance. Lors d'une visite à sa grand-mère, cette dernière tient un discours étrange qui remet en cause toutes ses certitudes. Quelle est vraiment l'histoire de sa famille ? D'où vient-elle ? Troublée, Avery commence à enquêter...
    " L'un des meilleurs livres de l'année. À ne pas manquer. "
    The Huffington Post Un des best-sellers de 2017 selon
    The New York Times.

  • Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.
    Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge--until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents--but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty.
    Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption.
    Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.
    Advance praise for Before We Were Yours
    “Lisa Wingate takes an almost unthinkable chapter in our nation’s history and weaves a tale of enduring power. That Georgia Tann and her Memphis Tennessee Children’s Home Society could actually exist, unraveling the lives of countless children, stealing their pasts and changing their futures, will give you chills. But the real feat of this stirring novel is how deeply Wingate plunges us into the heart and mind of twelve-year-old river gypsy Rill Foss. Rill’s utterly singular voice will stay with you long after the last page is turned, as will Wingate’s courage to follow her anywhere. . . . Vivid and affecting.”--Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of Circling the Sun
    “A powerful tale of family, of sisters, of secrets kept and secrets shared. I absolutely loved this book. I’m still basking in the afterglow, in shock at the true-crime elements, in awe at the journey of these characters who seem to have immortal souls.”--Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet
    “An unforgettable read . . . This captivating novel will quite likely break your heart, but because it’s Lisa Wingate at the helm, you will not be left broken. She is a master storyteller and never fails to get to the heart of what makes us hold on to hope.”--Susan Meissner, author of Secrets of a Charmed Life
    “Lisa Wingate’s heart-racing tale of a family ripped apart by the Tennessee Children’s Home Society scandal rang so true I couldn’t sleep until I knew their fate. Days later, I’m still haunted by the diabolical plot to steal and sell the most vulnerable children to high bidders, sanctioned by high-ranking officials who looked the other way.”--Julie Kibler, author of Calling Me Home

  • 1 MILLION COPIES SOLD
    OVER 25 WEEKS IN THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTELLER LIST'S TOP TEN
    WINNER OF GOODREADS CHOICE AWARDS 2017 BEST HISTORICAL FICTION AWARD***************************Memphis, Tennessee, 1939Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge, until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents - but they quickly realize the dark truth...Aiken, South Carolina, present dayBorn into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption.*********************'It is impossible not to get swept up in this near-perfect novel' Huffington PostBased on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals, in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country, Before We Were Yours is a riveting, wrenching and ultimately uplifting global bestseller. 'A tale of enduring power' Paula McLain

  • The latest in the inspirational and heartwarming Blue Sky Hill series from Lisa Wingate.
    All her life, Epiphany Salerno has been tossed like a dandelion seed on the wind. Now, at sixteen, she must move to the low-rent side of Blue Sky Hill and work where she's not wanted: in an upscale home on The Hill.
    J. Norman Alvord's daughter has hired a teenager to stay with him in the afternoons. Widowed and suffering from heart trouble, Norman wants to be left alone. But in Epie's presence, Norman discovers a mystery- memories of another life and a woman who saved him. As he and Epie take an unexpected road trip through sleepy Southern towns, they form a life-changing friendship-and uncover long-held family secrets.
    Winner of the 2012 Carol Award for Women's Fiction from the American Christian Fiction Writers

  • Twenty-year-old Jenilee Lane whose dreams are as narrow as the sky is wide, is the last person to expect anything good to come out of the tornado that rips across the Missouri farmland surrounding her home.; But some inner spark compels her to rescue her elderly neighbor, Eudora Gibson, from the cellar in which she's been trapped.; To make her way to the nearby town of Poetry, where the townspeople have begun to gather.; To collect from the landscape letters, photographs, and mementos that might mean something to people who have lost everything.; Brought close by tragedy, Jenilee and Eudora will learn lessons about the resilience of the human spirit and the ties that make a community strong.; They will travel to a place they never would have imagined.

  • Anglais Tending Roses

    Wingate Lisa

    "The best times of my life, the times that have passed by me the most quickly, were the times when the roses grew wild."
    ;
    The lessons that most enrich our lives often come unexpectedly. That's what Kate Bowman learns when she moves temporarily-'with her husband and baby son-'to her grandmother's Missouri farm. The family has given Kate the job of convincing Grandma Rose, who's become increasingly stubborn and forgetful, to move off her beloved land and into a nursing home. But Kate knows such a change would break her grandmother's heart.
    ;
    Just when Kate despairs of finding answers, she discovers her grandma's journal. A beautiful handmade notebook, it is full of stories that celebrate the importance of family, friendship, and faith. Stories that make Kate see her life-'and her grandmother-'in a completely new way....

  • First in a new series from a national bestselling author whose ?novels [are] like those of Nicholas Sparks and Richard Paul Evans.?(Bryan-College Station Eagle)
    For Rebecca Macklin, an ordinary summer brings about an extraordinary change of heart when she discovers that her aging father has been wandering the Dallas streets alone, and his wife, Hanna Beth, has landed in a nursing home. Now Rebecca must put aside old resentments and return to her childhood home. In this moving story of separation and forgiveness, two women will unravel the betrayals of the past and discover the true meaning of family.

empty